Singing in the Bathroom

I’ve come to a point where almost nothing that either of my kids says surprises me.  Saturday on the way home from the school carnival was no exception.

The PTO moms (and dads!) at our school know how to organize one heck of a carnival.  It’s big time.  The past two years I’ve signed up to help in the silent auction, but this year I decided to branch out a bit and face paint for my two hour shift.  After that, the rest of the fam joined me, and we enjoyed the carnival through the eyes of an easily pleased, almost five year lo

IMG_0318Face Painting–A monarch butterfly, per her request (“Because monarch butterflies travel 3,000 miles to Mexico, you know?”  Thank you, Wild Kratts.)
Pony Ride–Obvious first choice
Petting Zoo–It’s imperative to name each and every animal
Tattoos & Nail Painting–I sprang for the 25 cent manicure, too
Cotton Candy–You can’t follow the 5 second rule with this food, FYI
IMG_0314Pizza & Bake Sale–“I can eat this too??!  Now?”  (Translation:  What happened to my mommy?)
Bingo–We obviously need a little practice on what to do when you don’t win.  It wasn’t pretty.
Treasure Hunt–So much pleasure in digging through a bucket of bird seed.  Who knew?
Bobsledding–Definitely saw a third grader clothesline a tiny kid.  We got out of there fast.

There were a few other games, but you get the idea….a day full of a whole bunch of “yes” and not much “no”.  Those kinds of days are usually reserved for Grandmas, but mommies and daddies need them every once in a while too.  Fun.

So on the way home I was reflecting on all of the yes stuff, and I wondered what her best memory of the day might be.  “What was your favorite part of the carnival, Chica?”

I can’t say I was expecting the answer she gave, but I certainly wasn’t surprised…

“Hmmm…..let me think for a moment….Oh, I know!  It was looking in the bathroom mirror at my butterfly face while singing a song.”

Well, of course.

IMG_0316

5 thoughts on “Singing in the Bathroom

  1. Those don’t have to say no times really are fun for parents also. Tonight Savannah got her bangs trimmed and new hair product. It was fun for me to get it for her. Nice job again!

  2. Love the pictures! Chica looks good on pony!!! Hindsight, can see Bubba probably wasn’t feeling 100%. Reads like a great time, sorry to have missed it!! Did she say what she was singing?

  3. Great punchline! What a cutie.

    Please delete this comment after you see it, but is:
    “After that, the rest of the fam joined me, and we enjoyed the carnival through the eyes of an easily pleased, almost five year lo”
    supposed to end in “five year old.”?

    Love your writing.
    Lan

Leave a comment