Five Minute Friday: Lost and Found

With a link in my inbox and a little time to waste, I browsed a blog I hadn’t read in months. Stories and photos and videos of this Disney princess (literally!) turned country-hopping missionary made me feel a bit like I had lost something. A lost opportunity, I guess.

Maybe. But the more I think about it this morning, the more I realize just what I’ve found.

I’ve lost…

…the freedom to pick up and just go and do whatever, whenever.
…friends to great distances of time and space.
…the houses where I brought each of my kids home from the hospital.
…a camera. The good one we bought when Chica was a baby. Who does that?
…interest in hobbies that used to consume me.
…fifteen pounds, then gained it all right back again.

But I’ve found…

…a job I truly, truly enjoy.
…new friends to share dinner with every. single. week.
…a home that fits my new friends and their kids.
…purpose in new hobbies like running and writing.
…that the number on the scale isn’t synonymous with fitness.

But even better, I’ve found…

…the great joy to be had in being somebody’s mommy.
…the miracle of someone choosing to love my messy, confusing self for ten years.
…a new, growing desire to remain in the Love that will bear fruit.

What have you found today?

Five Minute Friday

Linking up with Five Minute Friday.  And yes, I know it’s Saturday.  I’m just now finding the time…

3 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Lost and Found

  1. I love your blog description, “crayons, crawling, and craziness”! It made me want to read. And I’m certainly glad I did. As time goes, things change. And we do lose things. But it is so important to reflect on what we have found. Thank you for reminding me of this truth.

Leave a Reply

