Five Minute Friday: Messenger

School is out, and I have homework.  And I’m thrilled.

Our LifeGroup has begun reading The Good and Beautiful God together.  Each chapter is followed by a homework assignment that you are supposed to take all week to do.  Last it week it was sleep.  This week it is to spend 5 minutes alone, in silence, every day.

I’m hooked.  Every mom needs these homework assignments.

So tonight as I sat on my porch that I am oh-so-thankful for, I tried to listen.  Pushing away the thoughts of the dishes in the sink and the laundry waiting to be put away, I looked for those messages sent from the Messenger:

The breeze reminding me that, though I can’t see Him, the Holy Spirit is active.
The fireflies reminding me that God is creative.  Maybe even funny.
The rain, slow at first, and then drenching, reminding me that He provides.
The four tiny, green tomatoes reminding me that the fruit will come.
The huge, amber moon reminding me that He is consistent.

IMG_3223

I’m checking my inbox this week for your messages, God.  Keep sending’ em.

 

It’s been quite a while since I’ve attempted Five Minute Friday.  Feeling thankful for time to write again!

5 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Messenger

  1. Thank you for sharing–beautiful, small messages, and a beautiful reminder. I am not a mom, but I am going to assign myself those five minutes for homework! –An FMF neighbor

Leave a Reply

