Currently Me

Eating:   Hot Tamales. Daddy took the hint and bought the big bag again. Just in time for me to (likely) receive 27 boxes from my students as end of the year gifts. Not too worry. One can never have too many. Other favorites these days include chicken tacos, clean-out-the-fridge pizza, and Mini Wheats. Not too exciting.

Reading:  I just finished Flora & Ulysses, and it was, “Holy Bagumba!” good. Thanks to my librarian friend, Ann, for the recommendation. I just started another recent Newberry Honor book called Paperboy. (Yes, my reading material of choice is meant for 10 year olds. I’m not ashamed.) I’m also looking forward to starting The Good and Beautiful God next week with our LifeGroup. I admit I was totally sold when I read that my “assignment” the first week was to sleep more. I’m all in.

Listening:  To the sound of the dryer and the dishwasher. And Jay reading me the day’s funniness from the Internets. There is peace in this time of the night.

Singing:  One of my students challenged me to write a song about equilateral, isosceles, and scalene triangles. I’m not singing it yet, but you can bet I will be by the end of the week. Our favorites right now in class are Mean, Median, Mode, & Range to the tune of Home on the Range, and the Perimeter, Area, Volume song to the tune of Oh the Lord’s Been Good to Me. And if you happen to catch me jammin’ in my car on the way to or from work, it’s probably Beautiful Day or Oceans.

Watching:  Sam and Nia. I can’t really tell you what I like about these people. All I know is that watching them makes folding laundry or loading the dishwasher a little easier.

IMG_2457Saying:  Four more days. I think I can, I think I can.

Playing:  Fishbowl. I learned it a few weeks ago at our grown-up game night, then I tried it with my fourth graders and their vocabulary words. Seriously…where was this game when I was a camp counselor??

Hoping:  For lots of time to read this summer. Last week I came home from a yard sale with this stack of books for just $1.

 


Learning:
  How much I love gardening. This weekend we discovered healthy pumpkin plants growing up under the porch where we stashed our discarded Halloween pumpkins. Tonight I replanted three overgrown seedlings from my classroom into my garden at home. We also spotted our first tiny Roma tomato and a big honkin’ bloom on our squash plants. And those cool spiky plants I wrote about here? They are in full bloom and absolutely beautiful. Turns out they are Asiatic lilies. Totally worth the wait.

lilies

I’d love to hear what’s happening currently with you.  Leave me a comment and let me know!

2 thoughts on “Currently Me

  1. I just finished listening to Roll of Thunder, Hear my Cry…it was good…
    Flowers are beautiful! Good luck with this last week! You’ll make it and your students are gonna miss you! Mrs. Earley told me about Fishbowl, their family plays it I think. xo

  2. Pingback: Currently Us | chica and bubba

Leave a Reply

