Currently Bubba

IMG_2159   Eating:  Cheese toast, PBJ, craisins, applesauce, vanilla yogurt, goldfish, “Daddy’s cereal” (aka Cracklin’ Oat Bran), and strawberries with whipped cream.  He’ll eat English muffin pizzas these days too, but they must be topped only with sauce and bacon bits.  No cheese allowed.  He also loves Hot Tamales.  Gets it honest, I guess.

Reading:  Before nap he was begging for When Sophie Gets Angry–Really Really Angry.  We got this book and the read-along CD from the library yesterday and listened to it for the first time before bed.  Sophie’s major temper tantrum made for an interesting discussion about good and bad choices over lunch today.  When I wouldn’t let him listen to the book again before nap (I think it was scaring him, and I didn’t want this to prolong nap time), he got really, really angry himself and did a complete reenactment of the book.  Lovely.

IMG_2158Listening:  If he’s in Daddy’s car, it’s the music from Frozen.  In Mommy’s car it’s whatever chapter book on CD that happens to be playing.  Right now–Mary Poppins.  Except that yesterday we heard Mary Poppins in about 20 second spurts.  That’s as long as it took for him to formulate a new question about her, thus forcing us each time to stop the CD again, answer, and try to convince him to just listen.  No luck there.

Singing:  Ten Little Monkeys Swinging From the Tree.  Also, approximately every tenth word when singing along with the Frozen songs.

Watching:  Jake and the Neverland Pirates, Frozen, Mulan, Pocahontas, and Strawberry Shortcake.  Daddy’s not very happy about that last one.

IMG_2137Saying:  This morning I read my Currently Bubba post from a year ago and chuckled at the fact that I was celebrating that he was finally putting two words together.  It took him a while to get there it seems, but he is certainly following Chica in his verboseness.  I couldn’t pick just one, so here are a few of my favorite things he says these days:

corny–This is what he calls any coin.  It’s his own funny cross between coin, penny, and money, I guess, and I can’t bring myself to correct him.  I admit we’ve started calling them cornies too sometimes.

A-duh-LEE–After a long weekend at the lake a few weeks ago, he started copying Grandma’s way of saying his sister’s name.  I don’t think Bubba will understand our explanation about stressing the first and not last syllable any better than Grandma did.  : )

Can you lay w’me for a widdle while?–Man, it’s hard to say no to that cuteness.

I like your wet hair–Every morning after I’ve had my shower, he says this.  I’m still not sure why.

Playing:  The marble game.  Bubba hasn’t figured out how to build with this toy yet, but he’s all about dropping the marbles and watching them roll down.  Daddy originally said he hated this toy because the approximately 347 pieces just ended up all over the floor.  But once I built a run that actually used every single piece (and left none on the floor to step over), Daddy decided he had to get in on the action too.  He totally showed me up with his design stair-stepping off of the end table.

IMG_2149Hoping:  Daddy will buy us another giant bag of Hot Tamales at Sam’s.  (Hint, hint.)

Learning:  To jump and climb….off of and onto everything!  Which means that I’m simultaneously learning to take deep breaths and pray more.

 

5 thoughts on “Currently Bubba

  1. He is very coordinated. Part of the time while he was climbing down, he didn’t even look at where to put his foot! They are both so cute.

  2. Pingback: Currently Me | chica and bubba

  3. Pingback: Currently Us | chica and bubba

Leave a Reply

