Bubba Speak

These past two days as Jay left the house, he encouraged me to take it easy, reminding me that these are my last few precious days of summer.  I love that guy.  Yesterday I took that as permission to take a big fat snooze during the kids’ nap time and not do a lick of housework all day long.  It was fabulous.  Today I took his advice again and did something fun I’ve been wanting to do all summer…make a video to highlight Bubba’s funny little way of talking these days.

When Chica was in the learning to talk stage, she was a regular chatterbox.  She would spout off what sounded like whole sentences or paragraphs, but only one or two words might be recognizable.  This offered a perfect opportunity to record her and then add closed captions that were completely nonsense and quite funny.

I eagerly awaited this stage with Bubba so that I could make more closed caption videos, but he never got there.  While Chica’s speech has always been profuse, Bubba’s has always been precise.  He just doesn’t attempt a word or an idea unless he’s pretty sure he can get his point across.  And he’s not afraid to repeat it over and over and over until you get it.  : )

So my idea instead was to record him repeating some of his funniest/best words and make YOU guess what he is saying.  If you decided to take the Bubba Speak Challenge, let me know how many you get right!  Good luck!

7 thoughts on “Bubba Speak

  1. I got pizza, welcome, and the cheese part of mac and cheese. The others made sense when I saw the word revealed. So cute! Wish I could make videos like you!!!

  2. I still remember the video you did with Chica pushing her doll in a stroller on the deck. Could you post that one again? It was hysterical with your captions!

  3. Pingback: All Aboard Part 1 | chica and bubba

Leave a Reply

