Currently Me

A few weeks ago I wrote “currently” posts about Chica and Bubba.  I knew it made sense to write one about myself next, but sometimes as a mommy it feels pretty hard to separate what I’m doing from what we’re doing.  If they’re reading Elephant and Piggie and watching Momo’s World, chances are I am too.  But things have slowed down a bit lately, and it seems as if I might have enough of me back to write about.  So here goes…

Eating:  Homemade chocolate chip cookies and skim milk.  And by “homemade” I mean the break apart kind that are ready to go on the pan, because even the slice from the tube kind is one more unnecessary step I don’t need these days.  I baked them yesterday to prepare for a showing of our house in hopes that the yummy smell would linger long enough for our visitors.  A friend in our Sunday School class said that the fresh baked cookies on the table were a major selling point for him when they were looking for houses, so I decided to try his trick.  We had three showings, and only one cookie was eaten.  Oh well….more for me.

Reading:  Colossians 3.  I was challenged last week to memorize it, and I’ve made it to about verse 8 so far.  Verse 15 says, “Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts.”  The person who issued the challenge wondered what life might look like if we actually went to work each day with Christ’s peace ruling us.  My mind immediately jumped to September and pictured how that would change my school day.  But just now, writing this, I realized there’s no need to wait until September.  Come Peace.  Come when Bubba refuses to get in the car seat and no one wants to eat any of the eight healthy lunch options I offer.     Come when I have to wash the sheets three days in a row and when nap time seems an eternity away.  Rule my heart then, ok?

Listening:  Billy Joel on Pandora.  Nearly every song conjures up some almost forgotten memory for me… dancing with hairbrushes in hand during a giggly sleepover, the marvel of a friend’s player piano in her basement, a mix CD Jay made me while we dating, or window-down drives to the Peaks Camp.  “Riding around with the car top down and the radio on….”  Mmmm.

Watching:  Well, Jay and I had been watching The Voice.  I was totally pulling for the quirky girl with the tight pants and huge glasses, but whatevs.  As is customary in our house, the reruns of West Wing have begun to play again…our fallback show whenever we run out of something else we can both agree on.  I never thought it was a show I would like or even understand, but now I think it gets better every time we watch it….and we’ve watched it a bunch.

Saying:    I’m going to run the 10 Miler.  Jay and I first talked about it on our bike ride this week, and I think we have a good time picked out that I can start to run regularly.  Today I told two different friends I was going for it, and now…umm…I’m telling you.  Maybe it will be harder to back out that way.  Hold me to it, friends!

Hoping:  That someone will buy our house so we can finally start looking for real, and not just online, at new places.  And so that I don’t have to keep hiding my soap and shampoo in the cabinet under the sink.  That and about a million other things that are annoying to a housekeeping challenged girl like me while our house is on the market.  This too shall pass, I know.     

Learning:  This.  Really, take a minute to read it…you’ll be glad you did.  I used to be the avocado mom just a little bit, I think, but now I’m the mom doing a little cheer if I can get them to eat chicken nuggets.  Forget the vegetables.

So, I’ve made some new friends lately, and I was tempted to think their kids were taking naps on a schedule at me and they were enjoying their big houses and flat yards at me.  But here’s the kicker:  “We can choose to see each other as competition or as fellow warriors – fighting the same fight on the same team. One goal – many paths. We can learn from each other. We can even ENJOY each other.”   Yep, I’m learning to let that happen.  One goal — many paths.  I like it.

So, what’s happening currently with you?

This post was inspired by Mama. Papa. Bubba. who was inspired by Sometimes Sweet who was inspired by MeganIsLove.  Pass it on.

2 thoughts on “Currently Me

  1. Pingback: Things Above | chica and bubba

  2. Pingback: Currently Us | chica and bubba

Leave a Reply

