It Might Be a Great Vacation If…

IMG_0343Last week I was so blessed to spend a week exploring the Grand Canyon with my dad and brother.  We went to Havasu Falls on an REI tour.  Our guides were the best of the best, the scenery was unbelievable, the accommodations were exceptional, and the hiking was a welcomed challenge.

 

 

One day while relaxing in my tent I decided to jot down a few things that were so great about the adventure we were enjoying.

It Might Be a Great Vacation If…

10. Your cell phone is 10 miles away, uphill.
9.  Your to-do list for the next day consists of only the following:  hike 7 miles, brush your teeth, float on the creek, and wash your underwear.
8.  You learn about biology, sociology, and geology all within a half mile hike.IMG_0306
7.  You can play UNO while someone else makes dinner.
6.  You can relax in a creek-side hammock while someone else cleans up dinner.
5.  Your once blue shoes look like this at the end of the day.    ———–>
4.  You are having so much fun you don’t want to stop to take pictures.
3.  No one cares if you shower or not.
2.  You forget where you put your watch and decide not to look for it.
1.  You get to spend lots of time with family and meet new friends that become like family.

bubba he-mutI had one full day home, and then it was right back on the road for vacation with the other half of my family.  We spent the beginning of this week in the friendly, quiet town of Damascus, VA where we rode the 30-some mile Creeper Trail.  This is our third time making this trip in just as many years, and we were already planning our return on the ride home.  I have such fond memories as a kid of returning to the same river beach for family vacations, year after year.  Maybe this Creeper Trail will become the same for my two.  Again, we were having so much fun, we didn’t really stop to take pictures….just this one of Bubba in his “he-mut”.

Tonight when I finally sat down to type out my “Great Vacation” list above, I started to think I needed to add one more…

It might be a great vacation if you’re glad to be home.

I think the whole point of vacation is to give you a breather from real life.  In my case, vacation (especially the first one) was a chance to catch up on some major alone-time hours that my introverted, mommy self never can seem to find.  By the end of the week, my introvert tank was spilling over the brim, and I was ready to be home with my people.  I think that means it was a truly excellent vacation….it was just long enough and relaxing enough to get me excited to come back to the everyday, real life.

So I know I’ve only been home home for something like seven hours, but I’m glad to be back in the normal rhythm of things here.  (Maybe ask me again how I’m liking the rhythm in 27 hours when the temperature’s pushing 90, I’ve run out of inside ideas, and nobody will nap.  Never mind…don’t ask.)

But tonight was good.  We ate pancakes for dinner, and Jay had it all cleaned up before anyone left the table.  After that we took a drive to the mall so we didn’t have to do our post-dinner walk in the rain.  (Nope…I’m not too proud to admit I’m a mall walker.)  Before bed we worked a few puzzles and chased fireflies.  I even managed to keep my cool when Chica threw her royal tantrum over the bugs.  Yep…it was a good night.

Vacation was great, and I’m glad to be home.

4 thoughts on “It Might Be a Great Vacation If…

  1. SO glad you had a wonderful trip out west. I thought about you often – and no calls from Jay here 🙂 You know camping isn’t my thing but it has obviously recharged you! Glad you are back home safe and sound. Let’s do lunch soon.

  2. Pingback: Happy Pig | chica and bubba

  3. Pingback: All Aboard Part 1 | chica and bubba

Leave a Reply

