Did That Really Just Happen?

Did I really just bribe my five year old with the following statement, “If you guys are seen and not heard while Mommy is having her meeting, we’ll go get some ice cream afterwards.  OK?” 

Yep, that really did happen today.  Now that’s some quality parenting right there.  Granted, I did relate it to a classic work of children’s literature in the process, but I’m not truly sure that makes it any better.  Several times in the Little House books Laura reluctantly remembers that children are to be seen and not heard.  Chica totally fell for my reference and agreed to give it her best shot.  Actually, who am I kidding?  It was the ice cream, not Laura.  Either way, she was mostly good during the meeting, and I decided I would forgive her short-lived and not-too-distracting barking and crawling because 1) it kept Bubba entertained and 2) I really wanted ice cream.  Daddy even met us there.  Bonus.

Count RaggiDid Chica really just tell me, “The Count Reggi is the national bird of Guinea,” while riding home from said meeting?

Yes, that happened today too.  By now I probably shouldn’t be surprised by the things she remembers from Wild Kratts and just trust that she knows what she’s talking about.  But tonight I decided to follow her rabbit trail and double check the truly random info that spills out of her little head.  Turns out she’s right.  The Raggiana Bird-of-Paradise, also known as Count Raggi’s Bird-of-Paradise, is Papua New Guinea’s national bird.  It seems this bird is best known for the male’s red plumes and elaborate courtship dance.  There.  You’ve learned your one new thing for the day.  You’re welcome.

P.S.  Does the educational value of Wild Kratts somehow make up for the lack of parenting finesse demonstrated in my ice cream bribe?  I’d say it’s likely.

Did Chica really just strip down naked in the middle of playgroup?

Oh, did that ever happen today.  The same girl who can rattle off animal facts quicker than I can google them, still doesn’t know that the backyard of a stranger’s house is not the place to change into your swimsuit when you’re five.  So here I am at playgroup for the second time ever, trying really hard to appear that I have it all together in front of these moms who do this for a living.  (I feel like I just pretend during the summer.)  So the experienced moms apparently know that you dress your kids appropriately ahead of time when there’s going to be water to avoid a situation just like this one.  Yep…got that one for next time.  So I’m digging around in my bag to find Bubba’s bathing suit when I look up and am blinded by a mysterious white light.  J/K….it’s just Chica in all her sun-deprived glory standing by the baby pool, waiting.   I couldn’t find that bathing suit fast enough.  Let’s just hope all my new mama friends were thinking more of, “Oh, poor teacher mom who’s still figuring this out,” and less of, “Wonder what kind of crazy stuff goes on at their house?”   Let’s hope.

In celebration of ChicaAndBubba’s 100th post, will you consider leaving me your best “Did that really just happen?” moment from the week?  I’d love to hear it!

Image:  Bird-of-Paradise (Paradisaea raggiana) © cliff1066  | Flickr Creative Commons

2 thoughts on “Did That Really Just Happen?

  1. Oh no, I am most certainly an “experienced” mom (as YOU are, too), and I still change my kids in the middle of the play date! Wise woman, you HAD a swim suit with you! She wasn’t just running and jumping and playing in her undies! None of us have it “together”, all of us fear we’re being judged, and ALL of us are relieved when we see these cracks in one another’s armor, as that is where the light and love shine through, we receive grace that we and they don’t have it all “together”, and it really is okay. We are doing the best we can, it is hard (and hilarious), and it is enough.

    xoxoxo,

    ~Sarah-Anne

  2. I’d love to celebrate your 100th post.
    Did that really just happen? On Tuesday, June 18th?
    (Oh neat, that was our 4 year anniversary!)

    Upon arriving to our destination, George and I realized that Drakeson’s diaper was exploded. We then realized that we had forgotten the diaper bag. So we both went into the men’s room, threw out the disposable insert, washed off the plastic liner with soap and water, spot cleaned the cloth cover, and “folded” a new liner from paper towels and toilet paper. It was interesting.

Leave a Reply

