Deep (and Not So Deep) Thoughts on a Saturday

In no particular order…

All funny stories that begin with a hard-boiled egg usually end with an egg that wasn’t hard-boiled after all.

Grandmas are the only people that you can ask to watch your sick kids without a guilty conscience.

Well written eulogies for funny people (and most people, probably) require a delicate balance of humor and sincerity.  All three nailed it today.

If your kid calls you “Princess Demand-y Pants,” you should probably start calling her “Queen Sassy Britches.”

At some point bath time transitioned from a necessary chore to an easy way to keep the crazies entertained that doesn’t involve chasing anyone.  Why didn’t I figure this out sooner?

I’m not quite ready for the extra dose of potty humor that comes with having a boy.  Bubba giggles every time he finds his you-know-what while in the tub.  

“It’s okay for things to be good just for a time.”  I sounded like an old person today when I reminisced with a friend about the way things were before she moved away.  This was her eyeopening response.  

I really like the saying, “Shut the front door!”  I, apparently, need to take it quite literally, though.  Today I left for a walk to the park and came back to discover I had left the front door wide open.  Wednesday, after Chica’s dance class, I came back to my van (on 5th Street, no less) to find the sliding side door wide open.  Ah!

Kate Campbell was right.  Funeral food really does fill you up down to your toes.  I haven’t been hungry all evening.  Until now.

And one more borrowed deep thought (Thanks, David)….Many people teach us how to live.  Only a few people get to teach us how to die.  I have learned so much.

3 thoughts on “Deep (and Not So Deep) Thoughts on a Saturday

  1. I adored this post. I was reminded of the time my own son’s “you-know-what” landed in the tub. My wife (who usually handled such matters) was at Bible study. I was the one left in charge, though I did consult with my daughters who, though only 9 and 7 at the time, were quite adept when it came to handling household crises.

    I decided as a treat for my wife (who missed out on the little adventure), I would write a multi-persona narrative of the incident – told from the perspectives of myself, my two daughters, my son, and our dog – which each of us the self-described heroes of our own tales. She got quite a kick out of it.

    Keep up the good writing.

Leave a Reply

