A Potty Post

Tonight at church I had to do a tiny bit of problem solving.  I really had to use the bathroom, and everyone I knew was busy in some sort of meeting or class or practice.  Everyone, that is, except Bubba and I.  So, naturally, Bubba had to go with me.  Now that he is quite mobile, this was a bit of a challenge.  Our awkward dance around the room made me consider the various stages we’ve lived through already concerning restroom stops.  Am I the only one??

Too New  At first just the thought of bringing my clean, perfect bundle in to such a germy room kept him out of the bathroom all together.  I could either avoid having to go while out or leave him in Daddy’s care while taking care of business.

Car Seat  The bathroom avoidance stage was very short (especially with the second child) as I realized this just wasn’t practical.  So I strapped him in that seat and toted him anywhere, bathroom stall included.  I know it’s probably not PC, but we all head to the handicap stall when accompanied, right?

Hands Free  Round about the time that they start to hold their head up, they start to get a little heavy for toting around in the car seat all the time.  This is a good time to start baby wearing with your apparatus of choice.  Need a potty stop?   No problem….both hands are free!  Good to go.

Hip Toter  It seems I hit the point where he was too heavy to wear a lot sooner the second time around.  Maybe I’m just lazier, or he’s a lot squirmier…not sure.  Either way, I inevitably find myself in Walmart with Bubba on hip and no one to pass him to.  I must say I have perfected the very tricky art of buttoning my pants AND washing my hands with a baby slung under one arm.  It’s not pretty, but it can be done.

Stand Here  His twenty-two pound mobile self has now gotten too hard to wrangle in the under-arm position.  So lately we’ve tried the Stand-Real-Still-Right-Here-While-I-Go-Real-Fast method.  This is fine in the stall because I can keep one hand on him at all times, keeping him (mostly) off the floor.  While washing my hands, however, it’s a different story.  Tonight I used some sort of creative leg lock…worked pretty well, I guess.

So I know we have lots more stages to go.  There’s the Don’t Touch stage when every shiny thing and interesting texture inside a stall catches their attention.  And the Shhhhhhhh stage when they start to report oh-so-embarassing details for every other person in the room to hear.  That’s followed shortly by the painstakingly long process of potty training.  Ugh.  Oh, and there’s always that that awkward stage of being out with a parent of the opposite sex and trying to decide if the kid is old enough to head to the restroom on their own.   I think we’re there with Chica.

I almost forgot one…

I’ve definitely been cheered on….how about you?  : )  What other stages do I have to look forward to?

 

3 thoughts on “A Potty Post

  1. The Hip Toter is classic! And with my oldest I am definitely at the being cheered on stage, I’m waiting for her to pull out a pack of stickers.

  2. Sometimes the handicap stall is big enough for the entire grocery cart. Emptying it before you enter is a nuisance but sometimes it’s the best option.

Leave a Reply

