Finally Friday

Friday Night, oh how I’ve missed you.  I’m not sure you could be much more perfect if you tried.

It was a crazy day at work….one of those days where you don’t realize until 4:30 that your head is pounding and you are snapping at your family because you were too busy to finish your lunch.  So when Jay asked about evening plans, there was no hesitation on my part.  Yellow Sub.  And fast.

The Yellow Sub is that place, for our family at least, where everybody knows your name….and your drink order, and just how you like your sandwich.  (All the way, except hold the mayo, hot…in case you were wondering.)  Bubba devoured an entire grilled cheese.  He is quickly passing his sister in his ability to pack away some food.  We topped off the evening with some Spoon Me.  Chica was glued to the cartoon playing on the flat screen, Bubba snoozed in his car seat, and Jay and I just sat in an exhausted silence enjoying our fro-yo.  (Hmm…I’m probably not cool enough to use that word.  What evs.)  It was lovely.

When we checked Chica’s backpack this afternoon, she had some sort of light up disco ball necklace thing.  We couldn’t decipher just where or how she got it exactly, but it nonetheless created endless fascination for the entire evening.  “Mom!  Party in the bathroom!  Wanna come?”  For the first time I can remember in months…shoot…maybe years…there was no begging to watch a movie when we got home.  Instead we read one chapter of some ridiculously outdated book about Indians that Chica has been obsessed with lately.  And we read it by the light of the disco ball of course.

Bubba was super quick to get to sleep, Jay went off to watch a hockey game, and I got to soak up the two things I miss all week:  stillness and quiet.

And so here on our saggy loveseat I have sat for nearly two hours recharging.  The dishes aren’t washed, the kids haven’t had baths since Tuesday, there are papers to grade and lessons to write, and my house is growing cobwebs at an alarming rate.  But it will all wait.  Because it’s Friday, and I’ve earned it.

(Re)charge on.

4 thoughts on “Finally Friday

  1. Cleaning and dusting can wait ’til tomorrow; For babies grow up, we’ve learned to our sorrow. So quiet down cobwebs, dust go to sleep. I’m rocking my baby, and babies don’t keep.

    Can’t remember the author, but I learned to live by this. Also the plaque in my kitchen: Housework makes you UGLY!

    Becky

Leave a Reply

