Rearrange

This is the order of my life:  Job, Kids, House, Jay, God.

This is the order in which I spend my time and brain power.  My best goes to school each day, and what’s left over is spread out over the rest of the list.

I’m thinking this should be the order of my life:  God, Jay, Kids, Job & House.

My stomach is turning just writing this.  I’ve known I’ve needed to write this (and do this) for a while now, but I keep putting it off out of fear.  Fear of how life might look different if I actually make a change.  Or fear that I might write it and still fail big time for everyone to see.

I know I can’t flip something upside down in a day or a week that took seven or eight years (or more) to arrange.  But I decided this morning that I can make just one change today.  I can find one moment where my brain fools me about what is important and spend my time on something more towards the top of the list.

I’ll let you know how it goes.

5 thoughts on “Rearrange

  1. Oh, Tracy I’m so glad you were bold enough to write this. I’m in the SAME boat–and it must be an ocean liner because I know we’re not alone. I need to reorder my life to but I’m not quite sure how to go about making that happen. But if you’re willing to give it a try I’m willing to go there with you. Slowly but surely maybe we can turn this whole ship around.

  2. Isn’t it funny how we we’ve become an instant gratification society? You’re post made me stop and think, “I can’t change it all in a day….but I can change it over time.” Your post is exactly the sign I needed in my quest to help someone I love dearly who is going through a very rough time right now. One day at a time…one step at a time….one decision at a time…will get her where she needs to be. Thank you so much and good luck on your quest to turn things around.

  3. Pingback: Undone | chica and bubba

  4. Pingback: Twelve in 2012 | chica and bubba

Leave a Reply

