Innately Mundane

It’s a bit challenging to maintain a blog about being a mom when you spend only four waking hours with your kids.  We’re in that back to school for teachers week that’s full of sorting through the mess you were too tired to fool with last year and meetings that leave you feeling a bit panicky.   I’ve seen a whole lot more of school than Chica and Bubba these last three days.

I want so badly to continue this blogging thing through the school year, but I know I’ll have to be a bit more creative in order to find both material and time.  Thanks for sticking with me as I figure it out.

So tonight I have no great words of wisdom ready, nor any super funny stories from our adventures.  I’ve challenged myself, however, to see if I have ten moments worth remembering and recording today.   Not the most original idea, but maybe in this case, something is better than nothing.

  1.  I had to be at a different building other than my own this morning at 8 a.m., so there was none of the normal pressure that I put on myself to get to school early to get working.  This afforded me just a few extra slow moments with Bubba on my bed after he was fed and happy.  Today was one of those days where he looks different from the night before.  How does that happen?
  2. I love the look on Chica’s face when she emerges from her dark, sleepy cave.  We don’t do night lights, so the bright light of the kitchen nearly blinds her when she comes to find us.   This was a happy morning…no mention of watching any movies before breakfast.  I don’t know why that blasted box has become such an attraction and a battle lately.
  3. On our drive this morning, Chica asked me if she had beautiful eyelids.  Except she didn’t know the word for eyelids.  Her attempt at describing this body part was quite amusing.
  4. Nana made zucchini bread, and I got to have a piece when I dropped off the kids this morning at her house.  This was exactly the pick-me-up my up since 4:45 a.m. body needed.
  5.  A school friend invited me to go out to lunch.  Nine times out of ten my task oriented self insists on working through lunch on days like this.  Today I took her up on the offer, and we were joined by two new teachers.  I truly have to work hard at building relationships with new people, but I’m always glad when I do.
  6.  I’m thinking I may have a bit of a hoarding problem when it comes to office supplies at school.  This has only been made harder to overcome by taking over classrooms of two teachers in a row who have left.  School friends, if you ever need sticky notes, chalk, or …well….anything…I probably have it.
  7. Bubba is really getting into eating these days, but he hasn’t learned the beauty of a bib yet.  When I got to Nana’s house, she had convinced him to wear a dish towel like a cape instead.
  8. I’ll never understand why Chica protests baths so much and then protests again when it’s time to get out.  I just don’t get it.
  9. You know that clean baby smell you look forward to after a bath?  When you accidentally use a sour washcloth, you don’t get the same smell, no matter how many times you sniff their head afterwards.
  10. Tonight I had to bribe myself with ice cream to get the day’s bottles in the dishwasher.  I’m as bad as the kids.

A fellow blogger commented on one of my recent posts about the “focus on the innately mundane of your everyday life.”  I’m not sure why, but I just love that description.  There’s something about recording those innately mundane moments and seeing them all together that all of a sudden makes this day go from good to better.  Funny how that works.

5 thoughts on “Innately Mundane

  1. Please don’t stop your blogs. . .I found myself saying yep to pretty much all the things you wrote about. . ..I appreciate your your honesty and writing, even when it is “innately mundane”.

  2. Tracy,
    I love reading your blog! I decided I wanted to try. Not all of mine came from today, but the last three days since we’ve been back at school.
    Ten moments that will help me remember.
    Ten reminders from a heavenly father that has placed me in this job for such a time as this.

    1. My daughter has spent the last two days at school playing volleyball with other teachers’ kids in the gym. Yesterday she found time to write a note that says I am the best teacher, mom and friend anyone could need. She laminated it to the top of my desk with about 300 pieces of scotch tape.
    2. She attached post-it note to it that says “don’t let anyone tell you different”
    3. We shopped at Sam’s tonight for our monthly visit. We arrived with only 15 minutes before the stored closed. I pulled the cart without stopping while talking to MIke on the phone about what we needed. I pointed and told the kids. They got the stuff off the shelves and out of the cooler to put in the cart. We were most impressive.
    4.one of our many meetings at school today were on the results of our parent surveys. I got another reminder that parents care more about how you make their child feel than how much you teach them. Please Jesus, let me see each of my students as you do. I want them to feel loved.
    5-7. Three different conversations with different teachers about different scriptures. Psalm 128: 1-2 is in my room to encourage students to work hard for their rewards. Proverbs 20:8 tells us that when a teacher (king) is watching closely he can scatter evil. When students know they are being watched they are less likely to bully or make poor choices. Luke 6:40 reminds me how important it is to be a follower of Jesus Christ and not just a fan. “… but everyone that is fully trained will be like his teacher”
    8. Met with my bible study group of ladies. We celebrated my birthday. Love those ladies.
    9. Tres is one month from his learners permit. He is constantly asking me about road signs and traffic rules. “Mom is it ok to stop in front of the big white line under the red light?”
    10. Last night I went to see my mom who has 2 black eyes from her fall at the home. I got the privilege of being there when dad arrived. He is true example of what it means to love and cherish for better or worse. He’s been loving her for more than 61 years.

  3. I’m on the road today…but just couldn’t walk past the lobby computer without checking in for a post :o)
    Was pleased to find and read one from TWO special teachers, moms, daughters, wifes, neices, aunts, friends and any other role you get to fill each day. Have a blessed day! You both are special ladies!

Leave a Reply

