Five Minute Friday: Beyond These Phases

Bubba @ 8 ½ months

We are currently suffering through the I Won’t Take a Nap Unless Someone Warm Is Holding Me phase.  This important stage of development is accompanied by the I Refuse To Eat Anything Unless I’m Feeding Myself phase and the Three Quarters of What I Try To Feed Myself Ends Up Smashed In My Lap phase.

Chica @ 4 years

She is smack in the middle of the I Don’t Really Need a Nap, But I’ll Lose It At Dinner If I Don’t Rest phase.  This is also the time of the I’ll Roll My Eyes At You Just To See If You Notice phase and the Fourteen Questions Per Minute phase.

At nap time and dinner time I am so ready to move beyond these phases.  I wonder how we got here and if they will ever end.

But then when they are both sleeping (because everything is just a little bit better then, right?), I remember that moving beyond these phases will certainly mean leaving behind other good ones.

Like the Let Me Give You a Big Sloppy Kiss All Over Your Face phase.   And the I’m Not Afraid To Strike Up a Friendly Conversation With A Total Stranger phase.

God, keep teaching me to find JOY in each of these phases of our little family, good and bad.  When we move beyond these and on to the next ones, may you pour on the joy again.

Oh, I almost missed one.  Who could forget the I Love To Make Farty Noises On Your Flabby Arm Skin phase?   I’m not sure if I’m ready to move beyond this one or not.  I think it’s funny at 8 months.  I’m sure he’ll think it’s funny at 8 years when I’m ready to be over it.

Linking up with Lisa Jo for Five Minute Friday…even though my five minutes somehow turned into five times ten.  I tried.

Five Minute Friday

7 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Beyond These Phases

  1. What a sweet reminder to enjoy those phases. I am currently in the “that’s lame” phase with my teenager, the “don’t ask me if I am hurt (because that’s embarassing)” phase with my 9-year old, the “I’m tough but cuddle me” phase with my 8-year old, and the “I do it myself” with my 2-year old.
    It goes by too quickly.

  2. Pingback: Our Day in Numbers | chica and bubba

  3. Pingback: Twelve in 2012 | chica and bubba

  4. Pingback: Happy Pig | chica and bubba

Leave a Reply

